Manitoba Skaters Closer to the Stars Thanks to Bursary Fund

It was a cool show.

Complete with a Stars on Ice warm-up section.

On Saturday, April 8, 2017, skaters shared their skills at the Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust Ice Show before a receptive crowd at the St. James Civic Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba. The show included bursary winners – plus skaters who had a remarkable 2016/2017  season.

The closing bow in front of over 300 people. (Photo credit: Lorne Edwards)

After an opening syncho-inspired number, the crowd was treated to performances by:

  • Breken Brezden (Skate Dauphin): Juvenile Under-12 Sectional; Manitoba Open; and STARSkate Provincal Champion.
  • Katya Cisneros (Skate Winnipeg): Juvenile Under-14 Sectional; SuperSkate; Manitoba Open; and STARSkate Provincial champion.
  • Emma Kasian (Skate Winnipeg): Passed her gold freeskate test; member of the High Performance Team.
  • Jasmine Vandewater (Skate Winnipeg): Passed gold freeskate; top ten at Winter Games
  • Cecillia Howes (Skate Winnipeg): first place women’s short program Manitoba Open; fifth at sectionals.
  • Annika Duguay (Carberry Figure Skating Club): Fourth  Sectionals; Manitoba Sectional Merit Award.
  • Taryn Gwynne (Skate Brandon): Fourth at Sectionals, Manitoba Open and SuperSkate.
  • Emma King (Skate Winnipeg): Bronze medallist at sectionals (Pre-Novice); Manitoba Open Champion.
  • Danae Russell (Skate Winnipeg): Seventh at Octoberfest; Eighth at SaskSkate.
  • University of Manitoba’s Ice Intrepid (Hazelridge SC): Sectional, Prairie and Crocus Champions.
  • Mattina Lisi (Skate Winnipeg): Bronze medallist at sectionals (Junior).
  • Chanel Cabak (Portage SC): Silver medallist at sectionals (Pre-Novice).
  • Andrea Laskovic (Skate Winnipeg): Silver medallist at sectionals (Novice).
  • Jensyn Baron (Carberry FSC): Silver medallist at sectionals (Junior), achieved QUAD.
  • Yohnatan Elizarov (Skate Winnipeg): Manitoba Pre-Novice Men’s Champion.
  • Julia Patenaude (Holland FSC): Manitoba Pre-Novice Women’s Champion.
  • Casey Bertholet (Hartney FSC): Manitoba Novice Women’s Champion.
  • Lindsary Hopkins (Selkirk SC): Manitoba Junior Women’s Champion.
  • Deidre Russell (Skate Winnipeg): Manitoba Senior Women’s Champion.
The warm-up area for the skaters. (Photo credit: Lorne Edwards)

The skaters performed their competitive programs or exhibition numbers. The two-hour show was choreographed by Margo Russell.

The ice show was followed by the 33rd Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Fund Awards Banquet at the Assiniboine Golf and Country Club.

The award winners from Under-12 to Senior Women at the 33rd Annual Grassroots Bursary Banquet. (Photo credit: Lorne Edwards)

This year’s bursary winners were:

  • Juvenile Women Under-12: Breken Brezden
  • Juvenile Women Under-14: Katya Cisneros
  • Pre-Novice Women:
    • Julia Patenaude
    • Chanel Cabak
    • Emma King
  • Pre-Novice Men: Yohnatan Elizarov
  • Novice Women:
    • Casey Bertholet
    • Andrea Laskovic
    • Danae Russell
  • Junior Women: Lindsay Hopkins
  • Senior Women: Deidre Russell
  • Synchronized Skating Team: University of Manitoba’s Ice Intrepid

The Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust was established by Reta Barber, a skating judge. The goal of the trust is to encourage skaters compete and excel at national and international competitions. It’s overseen by Miles Barber, Julia Belford, Don Brown, Lorne Edwards, Miranda Edwards, Pearl Humenny, Michelle Poole-Magnusson, Colleen Woods and Donna Yee.

The fund is essential for the skater’s training and travel expenses.

All of the award winners at the 33rd Annual Grassroots Bursary Banquet. (Photo credit: Lorne Edwards)

If you’d like to contribute to the Manitoba Grassroots Bursary Trust, please click here for more information.

Comments are closed.

Website Built with

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: